Follow me on Facebook Follow me on Twitter Follow me on You Tube Follow me on iTunes Join the Mailing List    
HOME       CALENDAR       BIOGRAPHY       MUSIC       REVIEWS       VIDEOS       PHOTOS       EPK       CONTACT

    < back to music

Order a signed copy!
$ 16.00 Incl. Shipping

Also available from:


    To pay by check or money order,
or for International Orders:
email us

West Coast Strings
SSJ Records / SSJ-USA003

"Diane Hubka soars in this magical album" -

Diane Hubka  - vocals, guitar tracks 3, 8, 11
with Guitarists:
       Anthony Wilson - tracks 1, 6, 13
       Mimi Fox - tracks 2, 12
       Peter Sprague - tracks 3, 7
       Larry Koonse - tracks 4, 8
       Barry Zweig - tracks 5, 9
       David Eastlee - tracks 5, 9
       John Pisano - tracks 7, 10
       Ron Eschete - tracks 10, 11
Bobby Pierce on Hammond B-3 - tracks 1, 6, 13
Jeff D'Angelo, John Leftwich, bass;
Kendall Kay, Enzo tedesco, drums

"On this captivating new album, Diane has assembled a West Coast jazz guitar summit, with each of the all-star groupings providing
the perfect setting for her soaring vocals."
liner notes by Don Heckman.

Songtitle Music & Lyrics by: Guitarists
1. West Coast Blues
Wes Montgomery, Sascha Burland
Anthony Wilson
2. Moondance
Van Morrison
Mimi Fox
3. Brigas Nunca Mais
AC Jobim, Vinicius De Moraes
Peter Sprague, Diane Hubka
4. Peace
Horace Silver
Larry Koonse
5. Warming To Spring
David Eastlee, Julie Cresswell
David Eastlee, Barry Zweig
6. It Ain't Necessarily So
George & Ira Gershwin
Anthony Wilson
7. Amanhacer
John Pisano, Jeanne Pisano
John Pisano, Peter Sprague
8. Never Let Me Go
Jay Livingston, Ray Evans
Larry Koonse, Diane Hubka
9. Moon Ray Artie Shaw, Arthur Quenzer
Barry Zweig, David Eastlee
10. They Say It's Spring Bob Haymes, Marty Clarke
Ron Eschete, John Pisano
11. Slow Hot Wind
Henry Mancini, Norman Gimbel
Ron Eschete, Diane Hubka
12. A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing
Billy Strayhorn, Norma Winstone
Mimi Fox
13. Someone Else Is Steppin' In Denise LaSalle
Anthony Wilson

Diane Hubka's newest release offers her ample opportunities for vocal jazz adventures amid the stimulating companionship of eight West Coast master guitarists. This far-ranging program of music follows up her critically acclaimed 2002 recording, You Inspire Me, (VSOJAZ) which featured the singer in the company of seven world class "East Coast based" guitarists.

More than simply gathering eight guitarists - she organized them into fascinating combinations. On some tracks she's backed by a single guitarist; on others there are pairs. Some tunes have rhythm sections, some don't. Three romping blues-infused tracks feature soul-jazz veteran Bobby Pierce on Hammond B-3.

Diane also plays guitar on three tracks, each one resonating with her affection for the lush sounds of her 7-string guitar, including a duo with 7-string guitar legend, Ron Eschete. (14 strings!) Add to that the almost symbiotic way in which she relates vocally to her stellar guitarist friends in each of the instrumental combinations, bringing the rhythmic spirit of jazz to her musical storytelling.

A vital member of New York's jazz scene for two decades, Diane moved to Los Angeles in 2004 and quickly linked up with the large community of gifted guitarists there, primarily via John Pisano's "Guitar Night". It's no surprise that she selected Pisano as the first on her list when she began the line up for this recording. The majority of the players hail from Los Angeles, with Mimi Fox based in the San Francisco Bay area, and Peter Sprague in San Diego.

top of page

Available in Japan from SSJ Records
Including the bonus track:
"Everything I love" by Cole Porter
- Diane Hubka vocals, Ron Eschete, guitar.

Available from
East Wind Imports

"Diane Hubka is one of my favorite jazz singers, and I am very excited to present her latest recording here at Eastwind Import. She has delighted jazz fans with her pure and uniquely shaded voice, impeccable singing technique and wonderful seven-string guitar playing... This is a delightful vocal album that also appeals to guitar freaks! Heartily recommended!"
- Hajime Sato

Copyright  © 2019 Diane Hubka.   CD cover photo by sara corwin. Site by dhjazzdesign