Follow me on Facebook Follow me on Twitter Follow me on You Tube Follow me on iTunes Join the Mailing List    
HOME       CALENDAR       BIOGRAPHY       MUSIC       REVIEWS       VIDEOS       PHOTOS       EPK       CONTACT

    < back to music

Beverly Kenney - What Is There To Say?
Sinatra Society of Japan - SSJ Records 2009

Beverly Kenney was one of the greatest "Cool Jazz" singers of all time! Beverly wrote the song, "I Don't Believe In Love", co-written with my dear friend and mentor Ray Passman, but she had never recorded it. I was honored when SSJ Records asked me to sing and play this one track to be included on this CD.

Rare work from 50s vocalist Beverly Kenney, who first burst on the scene with a flourish, then recorded only briefly before her all-too-soon death in 1960 - so the unreleased gems here really do a lot towards filling in her small catalog of music - and offer up some surprising slices of work pulled from TV and radio performances in 1954 and 1958. Backing is by a group with Roland Hanna on piano and Vinnie Burke on bass on some tracks, and by The Skitch Henderson Orchestra on others - and titles include the Kenney originals "I Hate Rock & Roll" and "I Don't Believe In Love" - the latter of which is sung by Diane Hubka, in a recent performance added to this package. Includes a bonus track with a short interview with Beverly.
(HQ - Hi Quality CD pressing!)

  1.  What Is There To Say?
  2.  I Hate Rock And Roll
  3.  Surreny With The Fringe On Top
  4.  Makin' Whoopee
  5.  The More I See You
  6.  Taking A Chance On Love
  7.  Swing And Sway
  8.  Charleston Fling
  9.  I'm Ready For The Show [BONUS TRACK]
10.  Tappin' Out A Merry Boat
11.  I Don't Believe In Love
12.  Interview [BONUS TRACK]

Copyright  © 2019 Diane Hubka.   CD cover photo by sara corwin. Site by dhjazzdesign